What are STCs?

Small-scale Technology Certificates are a financial incentive to encourage the installation of solar and heat pump water heaters under a Federal Government operated scheme. STCs are available for installations in every state of Australia, and can be combined with other Federal and State rebates. One STC is equivalent to a megawatt hour per year (MWh/yr) of electricity displaced by an eligible system.

How many STCs am I eligible for?

Each solar or heat pump system is eligible for a different number of STCs, which relates to the systems’ capacity, efficiency and installation location. Australia is divided up into four zones. Brisbane and outer suburbs, Ipswich and Toowoomba regions, Gold and Sunshine Coasts fall within zone 3.